Sandra’s Story: Living With Metastatic Breast Cancer for 17 Years

MBCNbuzz

Editor’s Note: Sandra’s remarkable story started two decades ago. She was 42 when diagnosed with Stage 2,  triple-negative breast cancer. Three years later, when the cancer appeared in her bones, it had changed to ER+, HER2-. Later when she had a new tumor in same breast it changed to ER+ and HER2+. Whew! Today, Sandra is 62 years old and  a tireless advocate for people living with MBC.  We love her story and we think you will, too!

SandySpivey Sandra with a kitty from the animal shelter she volunteers at every week.

I’ve been living with Stage 4 breast cancer since 1998.  It took an agonizing three months to confirm the diagnosis with a biopsy and I got the news the day before I hosted Thanksgiving Dinner at my home for 18 family members.  That Thanksgiving was like a Three Stooges movie.  I told my mom about my diagnosis when we…

View original post 505 more words

Leave a Reply

